innocence

“There’s the playground!” my two year old grandson exclaims joyfully as he catches sight of the swings and slide and various play structures strewn over the tear-drop shaped area etched out for the neighbourhood children. He is oblivious, of course, to how those words, sung out so innocently and so joyfully, clutch at my heart.

IMG_9243

How to capture that innocence, and – not put it into a bottle, but – maintain it in a little boy? My heart ached because I knew that wasn’t possible. There will come a time, and maybe in the not-too-distant future, when this child will hold himself in check before he happily sings out his anticipation. Because he will see children steal toys; he will hear adults arguing as they watch over their children’s sandbox antics; he will eventually outgrow the swings and the slide. And yet, this experience reminded me of something I perceive in myself every now and then – something the poets talk about, something about how this earth may still hold the possibility of new joy, of novel and well-founded belief in people and things around us. To this day, the Christmas season evokes some happy, anticipatory feeling in me – something that keeps me believing or, at least, hoping. So then maybe I’m wrong. Maybe there is an innocence that can be maintained. Or at least a joy. Maybe teaching a child that stories are real, that people are kind, that life is a gift, propels their innocence, keeps it alive. Maybe that is the only way to safeguard a child’s so-tender, so-precious, so-innocent heart. Maybe I can listen to those joyful words next time without feeling like I’m about to lose something.

 

Standard

Leave a comment